Book Review: Portrait of a Murder- Michael Jecks

Many thanks to Michael Jecks who kindly gave me a copy of his gorgeous hardback of this first book in his contemporary mystery series.

(I was going to buy a copy myself-so this is not a paid-for review)

Portrait of a Murder (The Art of Murder #1)Portrait of a Murder by Michael Jecks
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I thoroughly enjoyed this well paced and suspenseful mystery.

Portrait of a Murder started off a cosy mystery, aside from the gruesome depiction of death by shotgun (not a spoiler).

Things quickly descend into dark territory as the main character Nick gets further embroiled in some not-nice goings on. (see spoiler)

The antagonists show a misogynistic outlook, being all round horrible people. However, I did find Nick’s view of women as either ball breakers, damsels in distress or sexual objects problematic. Though this can be forgiven and I still give this book a 5***** (see spoiler)

The gritty realism in depiction of violence and graphic injury, and the well developed characters makes the danger palpable. I did empathise with Nick, trying earn a living and do his best by everyone but finding himself in more and more trouble.

I am looking forward to reading the next installment of Nick’s escapades an an accidental sleuth.

(view spoiler)

View all my reviews

I’m an avid fan of Michael Jeck’s Knights Templar series, and thoroughly enjoyed his fun romp Jack Blackjack if you like lighter fare. While his Vintner’s books immerse you in the grim battles and sieges of the Hundred Years War.

Books aside, if you are a stationery whore like me it’s worth checking out his youtube for all things fountain pen, notebooks and general goodies. There are cute dogs too!

//www.instagram.com/embed.js

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.